The Accidental Logophile

” It just happens to be the way I’m made. I have to write things down to feel I fully comprehend them.” – Haruki Murakami, Norwegian Wood

I’ve lost count of the number of people who have told me I should write. To be honest, at first it sounded a bit funny to me. Me? Write? About what?  I don’t have any writing experience outside of writing University papers! I guess my brain conveniently forgot about the diaries that I’d kept from age 8-26, the countless letters I’ve written over the years to friends, relatives and penpals, my immense love for language in general, among other things.  Words have always been my friends, whether I realized it or not.  I think Oscar Wilde summed it up the best in one of my favourite books, The Portrait of Dorian Gray :

“Words! Mere words! How terrible they were! How clear, and vivid and cruel! One could not escape from them. And yet what a subtle magic there was in them! They seemed to be able to give a plastic form to formless things, and to have a music of their own as sweet as that of  viol or of lute. Mere words! Was there anything as real as words?”

I’m not sure what to expect from this experience but, like the Murakami quote says, I feel an urge to write my thoughts down in order to understand.  Who knows ; I may even learn a thing or two. We shall see!

2 thoughts on “The Accidental Logophile

Leave a Reply

