To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

My second reading of this amazing book. I definitely appreciated the writing style and story more the second time around. I love most of the characters in this book; how could you not fall in love with Scout? In my opinion, she is one of the best book characters ever. It’s fascinating to see her grow in her understanding of the world around her, and also to see how she struggles with her “unladylike” ways.

Atticus and Scout Finch

The first time I read this book, I was impressed by Atticus. The fact that he speaks to his children as almost equals is amazing to me. I think we can all remember being given less than satisfactory answers to our questions as children so it was refreshing seeing this. Also, it’s obvious that he’s a moral character, and it goes to show that a lot of people wouldn’t be racist or ignorant of those not like themselves, if they had a parent like Atticus.

I love the nostalgic element of the book. The creepy house/neighbour theme is one that was definitely prevalent in my own childhood. It did make me sad how different children are these days, not as imaginative with their playing as they were in the past.

My bookclub loved this book as well but a few of them did state the story of a black man being accused of rape in the Deep South may have been more effective written by an African-American writer so that the character of Robinson would be more developed. I think this has probably been done before (Richard Wright?) but I think having the story told from the point of view of a young, white female protagonist is unique and refreshing.

I love the following quote; I think it’s a great reminder for all of us :

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.” – Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

So, a great re-read and it’s definitely easy to see why this is a classic.

One thought on “To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

  1. This was my setbook in high school and it was the first book ever to make me cry. It certainly is a timeless classic.
    However, I’m slightly perturbed at your book club members’ idea that it should have been written by an African-American…hmmm…

Leave a Reply

