7 Random Facts About Me

BigMjEVCcAAoipr

 

Dimitris, who has an awesome literature blog at http://dmelicertes.com/, very kindly nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award (thank you!). I was asked to say 7 things about myself. This turned out to be harder than I thought but here goes!

1. I was definitely a tomboy as a child. I never had any Barbie dolls, instead I watched Turtles, Thundercats and WWE, rode go-karts and climbed (and fell off) trees. I have the scars to prove it. Nobody would ever suspect me of having been a wild child but I really was. I’ve mellowed a lot with age. I’m just glad I wasn’t a teen during the selfie/facebook era.

2. I must have 5-6 notebooks and I use them regularly. There’s really not much of a structure in how I use them.

One of my favourite notebooks
One of my favourite notebooks

3. I have a very large extended family. I must have at least 50 cousins. It’s hard keeping track of everyone.

4. I still use British spelling despite having lived in Canada for all these years. It just seems so wrong to spell “tyre” as “tire”. I’m recognizing there are still Britishisms that I use without realizing it. Just the other day I was met by blank stares when I asked someone a question about talcum powder. Turns out it’s called baby powder here. However, I’ve decided tomato is best pronounced the North American way (to-may-to).

5. I am an old soul who has to make a conscious effort to keep up with things in the present (but it’s more interesting in the past at times!). The majority of the authors I read (James Baldwin, George Eliot, Oscar Wilde, Charlotte Bronte, etc.) , the music I listen to (John Coltrane, Queen, Jimi Hendrix, Nina Simone) and the movies I watch (Paul Newman) are by people who have already passed away.

Jimi Hendrix wall mural, Vancouver
Jimi Hendrix wall mural, Vancouver

6. Caffeine has no effect on me. Absolutely none! It can be considered a good thing or a bad thing.

Chai tea
Chai tea

 

7. I like to cook and bake for people. If you’re a local friend you have probably been given a loaf of banana bread, some curry or almond roca at some point.

Pineapple upside down puding
Pineapple upside down pudding

Thanks for reading!

23 thoughts on “7 Random Facts About Me

  1. What a cool post! I loved learning more about you, Rowena. I’m like you when it comes to reading… most of the books I read are by people who have passed away! Your photo of the pineapple upside down cake looks delicious. My mother-in-law makes one that looks just like this and it’s one of my favorites… 🙂

    1. I always figure that if someone in Canada isn’t familiar with a term I used then an American wouldn’t understand either, therefore it must be a British term, lol! That just shows my struggle, not knowing whether I’ll be understood or not!

  2. I love coffee and tea the same and I also like cooking (but not baking). I always use British spelling! Nice of you to share these facts about yourself.

  3. Aww it’s funny how pleasant it is to read these little details about you… This means that I really love and appreciate you as a person in my life, however remote our connection!

    1. yeah I know all the different meanings/terms too. But then again my mom is from NC, and some of the things she says lol. Depending on where you live in the U.S. you might actually be bi-lingual and only know English!

Leave a Reply

