My 2014 in review

SAM_1151

Every year has its highs and lows and my 2014 was quite good, overall. The highlight of my year was definitely my visit to China, which exceeded expectations.

2014 was a great year for me in reading. At the beginning of the year I promised myself that at least 50% of the books I’d read would be by women.  In the end I read 164 books, 84 by women. That’s 51%, up from 38% in 2013. Not bad, but I was hoping to read more.

My Top 10 books of the year  (in no particular order) were:

1. The Book of Disquiet– Fernando Pessoa

2. Justine– Lawrence Durrell

3. All God’s Children Need Travelling Shoes– Maya Angelou

4. The Empathy Exams – Leslie Jamison

5. Textermination– Christina Brooke-Rose

6. Cassandra– Christa Wolf

7.To the Friend who Did not Save my Life– Herve Guibert

8. Kusamakura– Natsume Soseki

9. Breath, Eyes, Memory– Edwidge Danticat

10. Strange Tales from a Chinese Studio- Pu Songling

 

In 2015 I will be taking part in the “Year of Reading Women” Goodreads group. I hope to raise my percentage considerably.

This year has been tough as I tried to juggle school and work, and was also faced with the awful news about Ferguson and elsewhere in the States. Being a member of the black diaspora I was very much affected by what was going on and I think some of my posts reflected some of my frustration and anger. I thank everyone who read these posts and tried to understand where I was coming from as it wasn’t easy to put my thoughts down.

Thank you so much to all the people who take the time to read and comment on my blog; you are appreciated! Wishing you all a wonderful 2015 ❤

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “My 2014 in review

  1. Je suis toujours impressionnée par le nombre de livres que tu peux dévorer en une seule année ! Tu as un don unique, c’est extraordinaire. Merci de nous faire partager tes lectures. Le livre de l’intranquillité de Pessoa est très important pour moi : je suis heureuse qu’il soit le premier de ta liste (c’est aussi le seul de ta liste que j’aie lu !!). A mon tour, je te souhaite une très belle année.

  2. Happy New Year!
    Well done for at least achieving 51%. I read 107 books, 53 by only women (not counting collections with both women and men writers) so I didn’t even hit 50%. I’ve joined the year of reading women group too and hope to do better this time! Thank you again for the life-changing introduction to goodreads!

  3. Happy New Year Rowena! You had a fantastic reading year! I wish I could read as much as you. Your top 10 look to be very meaningful and there’s one in particular I’d like to read and that’s the one by Edwidge Danticat. Happy New Year and Happy reading in 2015!

    1. Happy New Year to you too, Delia! Hope you manage to read some amazing books this year:) Last year I just made a little promise to myself to read more female authors because I rarely did. I discovered a lot of great new authors so I’m glad I did:)

Leave a Reply

